If you have an old Twitter account that you cannot access, then you should use a third-party service to delete it or do it yourself.
There are many reasons why someone might want to delete their old Twitter account. For example, they might have created the account years ago and don’t use it anymore. They might also have forgotten the password and cannot log in. Or Twitter has suspended their account.
Deleting your old Twitter account involves some easy steps. Doing so will help you focus on your other accounts, and also, you can stop worrying about your old account being misused.
In this article, I will show you how to delete an old Twitter account that you cannot access.
How to Delete an Old Twitter Account you Cannot Access
On Twitter, deactivating your Old account for 30 days means you want to get your account deleted permanently. So to delete your old Twitter account, you have to deactivate your Twitter account, and Twitter will automatically delete your account after 30 days.
Remember, if you login into your old account within these 30 days, your account will get reactivated, and your account will not be permanently deleted.
And if you don’t have access to your Old Twitter account, you first need to get access by using the forgot password option on Twitter if you don’t remember your password.
To do this, go to the latter part of the article, where you can find the steps to do the same.
To delete your old account after gaining access, follow the below steps, and your account will be deleted.
STEP 1: Open your browser and login into your Twitter account using your credentials.
STEP 2: Now click on the More at the left corner of the screen.
STEP 3: Then select the settings and privacy from the menu that appears on the screen.
STEP 4: In the account tab, click on Deactivate your account.
STEP 5: Read the account deactivation information and click the Deactivate button.
STEP 6: If prompted, enter your password and confirm that you want to delete your account by pressing the Deactivate button.
How to delete an old Twitter account without an email
Deactivation is a severe action that should be taken into the account owner’s knowledge. Therefore Twitter will not delete your old Twitter account if you don’t contact them with the email address you have linked to Twitter.
If you have lost access to your email address, you need to contact your email service provider and gain access to it to get your Twitter account permanently deleted.
How to Delete Twitter Account Without Password
If you forget the password to your old Twitter account, you can just retrieve your password with the help of Twitter support, and then you can delete your account.
To reset your password, you’ll need access to either your email address or the mobile phone number that you used while creating your address.
To gain access to your password, you need to follow the steps mentioned below:
Step 1- From the login page, select the forget password option.
Step 2- Enter your email address, phone number, or username. Remember not to use your phone number if you have multiple accounts linked to your phone number.
Step 3- Now, select the email where you want to get your password reset email.
Step 4- Check your email inbox. You would get an email from Twitter with a valid code for the next 60 minutes.
Step 5- Now, enter the code on the password reset page to reset your password.
Step 6- Choose your new password.
Now that you have access to your Twitter password, you can delete your account by following the abovementioned steps.
How to Delete Twitter Account Without Logging in?
You can also delete your old Twitter account without login. It is an alternative way to delete your Twitter account without the need to log in.
All you need is to follow the steps, and you will be able to delete your account.
STEP 1: Go to the help center page of Twitter by clicking here.
STEP 2: Select ‘I’d like to deactivate or close my account‘ under How can we help you with your account question.
STEP 3: Answer all the questions and complete the form by explaining to them the reason.
STEP 4: Submit the form by clicking on Submit.
You will receive the email (on the same mail you have mentioned in the form) asking for your identification proof.
Once you have been identified as the authorized owner, you will need to follow a few more steps mentioned by Twitter, and your account will be deactivated.
Will Twitter ever delete Inactive accounts?
Twitter encourages people to actively login into their accounts so that their accounts don’t get deleted because of inactivity.
According to Twitter’s inactive policy, Twitter deletes an account that has not been active for the last six months.
So, you should actively login into your account at least every six months to make sure your account doesn’t get deleted. Twitter identifies inactive accounts based on logins. So logging into your account regularly will prevent your account from deletion.
How can I get my old Twitter account without email?
If you have lost access to your email address, you can still get your Twitter account back if you have your phone number linked to your Twitter account.
Read this detailed article on How to Unlock Twitter Account
Gaining back access to your Twitter account is not as tricky, just follow the steps mentioned below to gain access to your Twitter account.
Step 1- On the login page, click on the forget password option and enter your phone number or your Twitter username.
Step 2- Enter your phone number and click on the search option.
Step 3- An option will be displayed saying text a code to my phone number ending with [xx], select the option, and click continue.
Step 4- You will get a code by Twitter through a text message that would be valid for 60 minutes.
Step 5- Enter the code on the password reset page and click submit.
Step 6- Now, you can choose a new password, and now you have access to your Twitter account.
In the end, if you are still unable to delete your old account, contact Twitter support from your friend’s account or email them. Request Twitter to delete or deactivate your old account.