Instagram does not alert people when they are restricted from accessing other people’s profiles, like other social media networks. When somebody blocks you, it’s a lot simpler to tell; when you’re restricted, it’s far more difficult to discern. But there are methods to find out whether you’ve been restricted. This guide will help you understand how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram.
Can You Find Out if Someone Restricted You on Instagram?
Yes, you can check on Instagram to see whether someone has restricted you. You are probably restricted if you leave a comment on someone’s post and no one else can see it but you. You won’t be able to see when someone is active if you’re restricted- this happens if both you and the profile in question have Activity Status enabled. Your interaction with that user may have been restricted if it’s not marked as “Seen”.
How to Know if Someone Restricted You on Instagram
You can find out whether an individual has restricted you on Instagram in a variety of ways. Among the most common methods are:
You need to look for your comment on their posts. Either a new account or another account could be used. Follow the method below to verify:
- Launch the Instagram app on your computer. Enter your login information into your new account or
- Find the individual you want to check up on by searching through someone else’s account.
- Review the comment you made on that person’s post using your previous account.
If you are unable to view your comment on that post, your account has likely been restricted.
Text them and see what happens
This is a quick method to figure out since if someone has limited you, your message won’t go through or they won’t see it in their conversation.
- To verify through Direct Message, follow these steps:
- Launch the Instagram app on your phone. Register with your account.
- Look for the individual you wish to check up on. Try sending any messages to them.
- If your text is still pending or hasn’t been viewed in a while, it’s likely that someone has restricted your Instagram account.
What Happens When Someone Restricts You on Instagram
When someone restricts you on Instagram, you won’t be able to contact them directly (instead, a message request will be sent); and you also won’t be able to comment on or like their posts. It basically limits the amount of interaction you have with the user who has restricted you.
If someone has given you a restriction, you are not allowed to text them, heart their pics, or comment on their posts. The error message “Sorry, this user is currently not available” will appear on your screen if you attempt to send them a message or respond to one of their posts.
If Someone Restricts You on Instagram, Can You See Their Story, Likes
Yes. Your posts, reels, or video’s visibility are unaffected by any user restrictions. Therefore, both you and anyone whose access is limited can still see such things. Your posts can be liked by the restricted profile, and those likes will be public. So, restricting somebody doesn’t keep their likes disguised from others.
If Someone Restricted Me on Instagram, Can I Still Message Them
Yes. You can still text a person if you’re restricted by them. However, such messages will be placed in the inbox’s Message Requests category. Even previous conversations with that individual will be moved to the Message requests section. You won’t get new message alerts from the restricted profile, though.
To view the messages, you must manually open the Message requests folder. The user won’t be able to tell that you have read the text if you open it. To allow the individual to respond to the text, you must ‘unrestrict’ them.
If Someone Restricted Me on Instagram, Can They See My Story
Yes, people who restricted you can still see your stories on Instagram. You can limit engagement with a user by restricting their account rather than blocking them. Since people who are restricted from interacting with posts may still view your Stories, this is more useful for limiting interactions on posts.
What Happens When You Restrict Someone on Instagram
Following the restriction of any Instagram account, the following things happen:
- You won’t be seeing all of the messages, comments, and stories frequently.
- Comments made on your Instagram post by a restricted user will only be accessible to them and nobody else.
- Regardless of whether you’re online or not, the restricted user won’t be able to determine your account’s activity.
You won’t need to block or unfollow the user because Instagram’s restrict function allows you to keep your account secure. Simply put, you are decreasing your interactions with the individual by restricting them.
That’s it, folks! So, you could use the mentioned ways anytime to check whether you have been restricted by anyone. We hope you got to know a lot about how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram, if they can see your posts and stories, what happens when you restrict someone on Instagram, and much more!